What we can learn about the repentance of God

Aaron M. Weis
7 min readOct 23, 2023

There are times when I am reading the Bible that I am so surprised that I’m at a loss of words. I just can’t make heads or tails of what I am reading. This is how I feel when I read that God made the text, ‘and God made man in our image,’ as opposed to God made man in his image. I get to thinking, who are these other beings that God made man in their image? I received a similar sensation when I looked to the content of Moses’s spiritual journey. Moses was an integral part of God’s plan. Despite this fact, the presence of the Lord was with Moses, and did plan to kill him, if he had not be saved by his wife, who righted his wrongdoing. Again, I think to myself, if Moses is such a central part to God’s plan, how can he even conceive of killing him? Or how is it possible that God can test Abraham by asking him to kill his son? These are the curious feelings I got when I read about Job. I marveled at the fact that God not only communicated with Satan, but was willing to basically gamble over another man’s life and wellbeing. Granted, God is all-knowing, and as such, would have known that Job would have remained faithful, but it still seems out of place that an all-loving God would be willing to play a game of dice over a man with Satan himself. Especially when considering that man was one of God’s most faithful servants. But of all the most curious things that I’ve read in the Bible, the thing…

--

--

Aaron M. Weis

Aaron M. Weis is an online journalist, web content writer, and avid blogger who specializes in spirituality, science, and technology.